Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Affiliated Sites | Home RSS

Miners’ Jandron named to Class C AP All-State team

March 20, 2013
By Journal Sports Staff , The Mining Journal

MARQUETTE - Negaunee junior point guard Tyler Jandron was named to the Michigan Associated Press Class C boys basketball All-State team this morning, just hours after leading the Miners to the MHSAA state semifinals at the Breslin Center in East Lansing on Thursday.

Jandron, who was also named the Mid-Peninsula Conference Player of the Year, had 36 points to lead all scorers in a 56-55 win over Maple City Glen Lake in Gaylord on Tuesday.

Not counting the state quarterfinal win, Jandron leads the Miners in scoring with 17.3 points per game, making 49 percent from the field and 75 percent at the free-throw line.

Article Photos

Negaunee’s Tyler Jandron brings the ball upcourt during the first quarter against Ishpeming at Lakeview Memorial Gymnasium in Negaunee on Jan. 9. Jandron was named to the Michigan Associated Press’ Class C All State team this morning. (Journal photo by Steve Brownlee)

He and fellow starting guard Eric Lori, also a junior, combine to average just 3.5 turnovers per game despite being the team's primary ballhandlers.

Jandron has also averaged 4.3 steals, 4.0 assists and even 3.7 rebounds a game.

Flint Beecher senior point guard Monte Morris has been named the AP Class C Player of the Year and Michigan's Mr. Basketball while his bench boss, Mike Williams, is AP Class C Coach of the Year.

Fact Box

Michigan AP Class C boys basketball All-State list

By The Associated Press

The Associated Press Class C boys basketball All-State team, as selected by a panel of 10 Michigan sports writers:

Monte Morris, Flint Beecher, 6-1, Sr., Player of the Year

Vincent Hunter, Detroit Consortium, 6-8, Sr.

Kody Kleinrichert, Traverse City St. Francis, 6-7, Sr.

Erick Layton, Flint Hamady, 6-0, Sr.

Mike O'Brien, Maple City Glen Lake, 6-4, Sr.

Taron Ramsey, Melvindale Business and Tech Academy, 6-5, Sr.

Luke Ryskamp, Schoolcraft, 6-3, Sr.

Brad Visser, Grandville Calvin Christian, 6-3, Sr.

Tyler Jandron, Negaunee, 6-1, Jr.

Colin Lake, Ottawa Lake Whiteford, 5-6, Jr.

Luke Meyer, Addison, 6-10, Jr.

Josh Jackson, Detroit Consortium, 6-6, Fr.


Mike Williams, Flint Beecher

SPECIAL MENTION (nominees receiving two or more votes from the 10-member panel):

Nick Spitzley, Pewamo-Westphalia; Rayshawn Griffin, New Haven; Drew Zuidema, Grand Rapids NorthPointe Christian


Roy Johnston, Beaverton; Keith Haske, Traverse City St. Francis

HONORABLE MENTION (nominees receiving one or no votes from the 10-member panel):

Eric Ewing, Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett; Josh McFolly, Mount Clemens; Dorian Armstrong, Mount Clemens; Pikaya Ellis, Detroit Allen; Jake Zielinski, Laingsburg; Aaron Griffiths, East Jackson; Alex Almquist, Hancock; Adam Mackey, Ironwood; Kevin Woodson, Monroe St. Mary Catholic; Justin Webster, Adrian Madison; T.J. Baker, Clinton; Corey Redman, Boyne City; Mitchell McDonald, Leroy Pine River, Markell Lucas, Flint Beecher; Aaron Ginther, Harbor Beach; Eli Kraft, Harbor Beach; Brad Schaub, Marlette; Chase Casebolt, Montague; Jeff Jordan, Muskegon Heights; Bernard Smith, Muskegon Western Michigan Christian; Michael Winowiecki, Saugatuck; Brandon Kaptein, Grand Rapids Covenant Christian; Matt Crowl, White Pigeon; Brann Schmitt, Carson City-Crystal; Sage DeMull, Ithaca; Paul Zwemmer, Elkton-Pigeon Bay Port Laker; Mike Greenwood, Saginaw Michigan Lutheran Seminary; Ryan Hagarty, Hemlock; Nate Kern, Saginaw Valley Lutheran; Travis McCuaig, Morley Stanwood


Al Anderson, Detroit Consortium; Mike Tanner, Reese

Other members of the Class C All-State team are Melvindale Business and Tech Academy senior Taron Ramsey, Grandville Calvin Christian senior Brad Visser, Ottawa Lake Whiteford junior Colin Lake, Addison junior Luke Meyer, Traverse City St. Francis senior Kody Kleinrichert and Maple City Glen Lake senior Mike O'Brien.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web