Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Affiliated Sites | Home RSS

Miners, Hematites crowd All-MPC football team

October 25, 2012
By Journal Sports Staff , The Mining Journal

MARQUETTE - The undisputed top two teams in the Mid-Peninsula Conference this season were well represented on this year's All-MPC team, which was released Wednesday.

Conference champions Negaunee (8-1 overall, 6-0 in MPC) or the runners up, Ishpeming (8-1 overall, 5-1 in MPC) were represented at every position on the first team except tight end, kicker and punter.

The Miners' Tyler LaJoie, a junior, was selected as a first-team running back, first-team defensive back and named the MPC Co-Special Teams Player of the Year along with Iron Mountain senior Taylor Huotari.

Other first-team selections from Negaunee on offense included senior guard Alex Dempsey, senior wide receiver Brock Weaver, senior fullback Dusty Goupille and senior quarterback Tanner Uren, with Weaver and Uren being unanimous selections.

First-team defense selections included Dempsey at end and Adam Francis at inside linebacker.

Dempsey was also honorable mention for top lineman, as was Adam Francis at defensive player of the year.

Ishpeming senior Brad Wootke was named the MPC Lineman of the Year, senior Eric Kostreva was named MPC Back of the Year and senior RJ Poiner was selected as MPC Defensive Player of the Year.

Wootke was also a unanimous first-team selection at offensive tackle, Kostreva was a unanimous first-team pick at running back and Poiner was a unanimous first-team nod at linebacker.

Other first-team selections for Ishpeming were all on the defensive side, including junior Adam Prisk as a unanimous pick at defensive lineman, junior Bobby Zhulkie at outside linebacker and senior Hunter Wirtanen at defensive back.

Junior Tyrus Millimaki was honorable mention for top special teamer.

For Westwood, senior tight end Travis Swanson was a unanimous first-team pick. Senior fullback Zack Rankinen and senior defensive back Nathan Clisch were also first-team picks for the Patriots.

Gwinn had one first-team selection in senior defensive lineman CJ Redfearn, a unanimous pick.

Manistique's first-team selections were senior offensive guard Jared Edwards, senior tight end Max Nelson and senior Kenner Broullire, who was a unanimous pick at running back and kicker, and honorable mention for back of the year.

Offensive honorable mentions include John Sicotte of Gwinn and Justin Connors of Westwood at guard; Nolan Bergstrom of Negaunee, Cameron Lawry of Westwood and Mitchell Paris of Gwinn at tackle; Seppi Bertucci of Ishpeming at tight end; Zach Lambert of Manistique at wide receiver; Owen DeVooght of Gwinn at fullback; Francis Montbrun of Westwood at running back; and Tyler Kangas of Manistique, Alex Briones of Ishpeming and Nathan Clisch of Westwood at quarterback.

Defensive honorable mentions include Tony Zampese of Negaunee at lineman; Connors of Westwood and Matt Gonzalez of Manistique at end; Montbrun of Westwood and Goupille of Negaunee at outside linebacker; Edwards of Manistique and Steve Uhlbeck of Gwinn at inside linebacker; Noah Olgren of Ishpeming, Zach Lindemuth of Manistique, Luke Sinnaeve of Gwinn and Andrew Katona of Negaunee at defensive back and Eric Dompierre of Ishpeming at kicker.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web